CofC Logo

Recent Alumni Achievements

Onica WashingtonCongratulations to Dr. Onica Washington, former research student of Dr. Brooks and Dr. Riggs-Gelasco and Class of 2008, for successfully defending her dissertation "Characterization of a Full-length TTP Family Member Association with RNA Sequence Elements". Onica's PhD is from Duke University's Biochemistry Department and she is next headed back to MUSC to finish her MD. So happy for your success Onica!

Brandi Mariko Hudson

Congratulations to Dr. Brandi Mariko Hudson on earning her Ph.D. in chemistry at the University of California - Davis! She was also awarded the Allen G. Marr Prize Distinguished Dissertation Award - we are so proud of you Brandi!

Jessica TrombettaCongratulations, Dr. Jessica Trombetta, Class of 2008, who is completely finished now with both her DMD and her PhD from the Medical University of South Carolina. Dr. Trombetta's PhD is in the area of Molecular and Cellular Biology and Pathobiology. Dr. Trombetta is headed to Texas A & M University Baylor College of Dentistry for a post-doctoral position studying periodontal disease and therapeutic targets.

Candice Ulmer

Congratulations Dr. Candice Ulmer, class of 2012, for earning a Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry at the University of Florida! Congratulations, Candice! Coming up next, postdoctoral studies at NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) right here in Charleston.

Cathy AlmquistCongratulations to Dr. Cathy Smith Almquist, Class of '85, who recently earned her degree from University of Maryland University College! Persistence pays off!!

Chris Lee

Congratulations to Dr. Chris Lee, class of 2012, on earning his Doctor of Dental Medicine degree from the University of Kentucky College of Dentistry! We're so proud of you!

Danielle White

Congratulations to Dr. Danielle White, Class of 2012, who just earned her Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) degree at The Ohio State University! We are all so proud of you!

Rainey PattersonCongratulations to Dr. Rainey Patterson, Class of '11, who successfully defended her dissertation today! Rainey studied mass spectrometry at the University of Florida with Dr. Rick Yost and earned her Ph.D. in analytical chemistry. She'll be starting a job at Eastman Chemical in Kingsport TN this summer. We are so proud of you Rainey!

Ashton BartleyCongratulations to Dr. Ashton Bartley (C of C class of 2011) on earning her Ph.D. in organic chemistry at the University of Florida! Ashton successfully defended her dissertation and will soon be starting her new position as a Chemistry Learning Specialist at UNC Chapel Hill. Ashton always expressed a desire to teach, even way back in her days as an undergraduate research student working with Dr. Justin Wyatt. Dreams come true (with lots of hard work!) We are all celebrating with you in spirit, Ashton!

Ebony J HiltonOn November 19, 2015, the Alpha Epsilon Delta Pre-Medical Society’s Outstanding Service Award in Medicine was presented sat CofC's 2015 Aumni Award Banquet to Dr. Ebony J. Hilton, M.D., Class of '04 (right). She graduated magna cum laude from the College with a B.S. in biochemistry, a B.S. in molecular biology and a B.A. in chemistry. Following her graduation from the Medical University of South Carolina in 2008 she remained at MUSC to complete an anesthesiology residency and critical care fellowship. In 2013, she became the first African American female anesthesiologist at MUSC since its founding in 1824.

Alumni Seminar Fall 2015On October 1st, 2015 CHEM 490 Senior Seminar students heard from four young alumni from our department: Skip Comer ('11), Kim McDonough ('11), Sean Flanagan ('14), and Brett Snyder ('14). Thanks for sharing your collective wisdom on how to get started on a career in industry, representing Innovative Resource Management, EMSL and Ingevity.

C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S to Dr. George P. Cobb, Class of '82 who has been named an ACS Fellow, class of 2015!George Cobb Class of '82 George is the Chair of the Environmental Science Department at Baylor University. Below are his contributions to science and to the ACS community:

  • Contribution to the science/profession: Recognized for his group developing and implementing sensitive analytical techniques for exposure assessment, focusing on pesticides, explosives, nanomaterials, and waste site assessment.
  • Contribution to the ACS community: Recognized for helping the Division of Environmental Chemistry establish a memorandum of understanding with the Serbian Chemical Society and working to bring early career professionals into leadership of the ACS.

Social Media